Slow awakening

https://viewsshewrites.wordpress.com/2019/05/10/slow-awakening/

I know I am about to wake up in a while. But you know that blissful state of semi-consciousness when you do not want to wake up? I am in that state. I do not yet want to get conscious and wake up. So, as everyone does, I try to remain in that state of bliss for some more time.

In sometime, I realise that I have a slight headache building up. I am still in the semi conscious stage, thinking my sleep cycle has not been fulfilled. I should have slept sooner last night. Or maybe I was drinking last night. I am not able to recollect anything from last night. I don't put in much efforts to recollect. That would mean waking up and I am still not in a mood for that.

Soon, the headache starts to build up and I feel a low resonating thud pounding in my head. That is waking me up. I am hating it. I don't want to wake up yet. But I have no choice. The headache is building up with the thud of sounds coming from somewhere above me.

I try to stop it by reaching out for the sound without opening my eyes. But my fingers touch a wooden wall very near to my face. I open my eyes with a start and realize that I am in a box. The soft thuds of sound is coming from outside the box. I can also hear some chants and prayers from outside the box, the sound of which is getting softer with each thuds on the box.

It takes me a few moments to realize that I am in a coffin being buried in the ground and the people outside does not know I am still alive.