Insomnia

https://viewsshewrites.wordpress.com/2019/05/13/insomnia/

I like to walk around the house at night. The house is like a place of wonder. It is peaceful and quiet. I can go anywhere around the house without any fear of being caught. I can ponder over random wordly questions and look at the sky in a picturesque manner without anyone staring at me. I am left alone to do my things and no one to disturb me.

My favorite corner is the seat near the bookshelf. When everyone is sleeping and no one to disturb, I find it to be the perfect time to read the next novel. On a regular night, I manage to finish one entire novel in one night. Insomnia is a curse for most of the people, but not for me. I think of it as being given extra time in a day.

The dog comes and sees me reading the book. He must have heard my footsteps and wandered over to check on the noise. But he is used to seeing me reading. This has been happening for quite some time now. So, he just looks at me for some time and then goes back to his bed to sleep. I continue reading the book.

There is just the sound of clock ticking now, not even the sound of breathing. It seems everyone has gone into deep sleep where their breathing is deep and heavy, without much noise. I get more and more engrossed in my thriller novel. I want to finish it before daybreak. With the pace of the story and the peace around me, I have no doubt I will finish it.

The day is just about to break when I finish my novel. I ensure that the book is kept at the exact same spot from where I took it. I am not supposed to be reading all this. But the story had been amazing. No wonder time flew by so quickly. Now I have to wait till the next night to read its sequel. I cannot wait for time to go by and to get my hands on the next one. I go for a drink of water before going back to my room, ensuring to keep the tumbler at the same spot I took it from.

The dog looks at me once again when I go back to the room. I don't bother to look at it now. I don't know why he is so surprised everytime this happens. It is not like this is the first time. I go back and get on to the bed next to the little girl. She should find me when she wakes up. I am her favorite doll. Now it's time for me to be inanimate again.